A1 from Anthony Gordon @ on Vimeo.

Adventure 1 (A1) is a premier international adventure race coordinator that provides representation and support for local, national, and international athletes, events, and race directors.

Founded in 2017, ADVENTURE 1 collaborates with premier international event producers on the A1 World Series, A1 World Final and Expedition Racing World Championships.

A1 Series events are being delivered in collaboration with the national federation members of World Obstacle in over 140 countries and all sport continents, including Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania.

The A1 World Cup series builds upon the grassroots of the A1 National Series where teams compete for the opportunity to qualify and race at World Cup events around the globe.

A1 World Cup races are 24 hours+ in the Exploration format that test teams in trekking, paddling, cycling, and outdoor skills  while navigating with map and compass. A1 World Cup events are challenging and fast pace, while the race length and logistics remain accessible and cost-effective.

Events are chosen based on the quality, history and reputation of the race. All event owners that produce an A1 World Cup or A1 Series event must adhere to the World Obstacle Code of Conduct and adhere to the World Obstacle Code of Ethics.


The 2023 World Cup culminates in the 2024 World Final, providing an opportunity for countries to send their top teams to compete at the highest level. The final will be hosted in Hokitika, New Zealand by seven-times Expedition Adventure Racing World Champion Nathan Fa’avae.


All A1 events, event directors, producers, teams, entourage, spectators, service providers, contractors and associated individuals and organizations are required to uphold the highest standards of ethics, professionalism, moral conduct and behaviour expected for world level events. The following standards, guidelines and policies are included as part of these requirements:


Athletes can only represent only one country and teams cannot include athletes from more than one country. This rule follows international sport practice and criteria, and is specified in the World Obstacle Guidelines for Eligibility to Compete at Championships.

The nationality of a competitor is guided by the Olympic Charter Rule 41. In addition to the Bye-Law to Rule 41, an Athlete must be:

  1. a citizen of the country of the National Federation (“Country”) based on local law, or;
  2. have at least one parent, natural or adoptive, be a citizen of the Country, or;
  3. married to a citizen of the Country, or;
  4. a resident of the Country for 3 years, or;
  5. a permanent legal resident of the Country, or;
  6. a resident of the Country regardless of length of time if due to political, ethical, or humanitarian reasons outside of their control of the athlete, provided they have not competed for another Country within 12 months of the competition.

Additional criteria may be imposed by national federations and/or their national sports authority to compete as a member of a national team.

National laws of the host country may require additional criteria to be met. Example could include minimum age, or a medical certificate provided by a recognized national medical authority.

World Obstacle policies prohibit discrimination of any kind and require events to comply with the principles of Human dignity; Nondiscrimination, for whatever reason, race, gender, gender identity, nationality, ethnic origin, religion, philosophical and political opinions, marital status or any other; Nonviolence, including abstaining from any kind of pressure and harassment, whether physical, mental, professional, or sexual; Friendship, mutual aid, and fair play; and Integrity.

National laws, culture, practices, and social norms may conflict with World Obstacle policies, and in this event, the World Obstacle Diversity Committee, Legal Committee and Ethics Committee may provide guidance.


Qualification for the A1 World Cup Final is through allocation of qualifying slots for teams at A1 World Cup and A1 Series events.

Most A1 Series event offers a minimum of one qualifying slot for eligible teams. A1 World Cup events offer a minimum of two qualifying slot for eligible teams. 31 slots are allocated to provide balanced representation for for each continental regions as follows:

AFRICA – 6 slots
South and East Africa: 4 slots
North and West Africa: 2 slots

AMERICAS – 8 slots
North America and the Caribbean: 4 slots
South and Central America: 4 slots

ASIA – 6 slots
East and South Asia: 3 slots
West and Central Asia: 3 slots

EUROPE – 8 slots
United Kingdom and Scandinavia: 2 slots
Western Europe: 2 slots
Central Europe: 2 slots
Eastern Europe: 2 slots

OCEANIA – 3 slots
Oceania including the Pacific: 3 slots

  • The host nation of the World Cup Final is allotted a minimum of 10 slots. All other slots are offered to A1 Series event winners.
  • Slots “roll down” to the next eligible team if a team does not accept their entry to the World Cup Final.
  • If continental slots are not filled from A1 World Cup events, these slots will be allocated to A1 Series event winners within that continental region.

Skip to toolbar